Boren Scholarships - Where Can I Study?

Boren Scholars may study abroad in Africa, Asia, Central & Eastern Europe, Eurasia, Latin America, and the Middle East.  Students may apply to study in any country outside of the United States, Western Europe, Canada, Australia, or New Zealand.

The program will give preference to applicants planning to study in one of the emphasized countries in green.  We do not anticipate sending students to the countries in blue in 2019. You may still apply for 2019 Boren Awards to study in one of these countries; however, you must include a viable alternate plan in another appropriate country for the same language of study.  Please visit our list of preferred countries of study for more information.


Note: Boren Scholars may only study in a country with a Level 3 U.S. State Department Travel Advisory if they are willing to sign a waiver.  Students must also have a responsible officer of their home institution certify that study in that particular country is allowable under the home institution's policies.  Click here to view the Institutional Travel Warning Form.  This form is not required until award decisions have been made in May. Students planning on applying for study in one of these countries should check with their study abroad offices to determine what the university policies are. Information about active travel warnings is available on the State Department website.

Find your campus representative


learn more